Dirty Sexy Ministry is a great blog. Written by two Episcopal priests, Laurie Brock and Mary Koppel, Dirty Sexy Ministry takes a fresh, sassy perspective on the Christian life. As they themselves say, “After all, celebrating the Eucharist with a slipping bra strap adds perspective.” Well, they wrote Where God Hides Holiness which will be published before the end of the year by Church Publishing. I’m looking forward to reading the book. Until it comes out, you should bookmark their blog, add it to your Reader, or — you know — whatever it is you people do.

I don’t remember when I started conversing with the Rev’d Laurie Brock on Twitter (@drtysxyministry). It could have been that infamous night when several people were live-Tweeting the Olympic opening stuff the week I joined Twitter. It could have been sharing about our love for hyperbole, sarcasm, Opera, and “Friday Night Lights” over the months. Whenever it happened, her snark is hysterical and her spirit, kind. She’s our type of Episcopal priest.

So, in a new series for us here at A Red State Mysticwe’ve decided to have conversations with people and post them on YouTube. There’s no real rule on who will be included in these “Conversations”, but they must be interesting. So, for my first attempt at this, I decided to speak with the Rev’d Laurie Brock about her upcoming book. Of course, she did not disappoint.

We discuss everything from “Just how the heck did you get the idea to name your blog, Dirty Sexy Ministry?” to the Dark Night of the Soul and an eventual Zombie Eucharist (a la those dreaded and tasteless U2Charists). Of course, that last one was in good fun. We think you’ll see the humor. I think drag queens are mentioned, too.

Unfortunately, this is a two-part video filmed over two days. Being the Luddite that I am, I didn’t realize that I had to pay for the program that recorded our Skype conversation. So, only the beginning five minutes of our first forty-five minute conversation were recorded. Laurie was kind enough to return this afternoon and continue the conversation. Give a listen.

Part I: 

Part II:

